Communications and Engagement Committee

Chair: Councillor Simon Cassidy

Vice Chair: Councillor Anna Clarke

Members: Councillors David Ambler, Ian Barlow, Susan Shand and Christina Whitty. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are Ex Officio Members of all Committees with Voting Rights.

This committee is administered by Deputy Town Clerk, Yvette Hayward who can be contacted on

The Communications and Engagement Committee meets every two months, and is responsible for the management of the website, social media, council publications, the operation of the Tourist Information Centre, all aspects of tourism in the town, engagement with the public, the planning of civic events, signage within the town and the strategic management of the museum.

The current objectives it has set for 2019/2020 are:

  1. Work with other organisations to develop a Culture and Heritage Strategy, trying out enhancements to existing events and new activities
  2. Work with youth organisations to set up a youth council and improve collaboration
  3. Build on the improved accessibility at the Public Hall to work with others to promote inclusivity and accessibility in Liskeard.
  4. Promote walking and cycling in and around Liskeard, including reviewing and improving signage and establishing new trails.

Terms of Reference

Communications & Engagement Terms of Reference 2019

Museum Terms of Reference 24 Jan 2017

PDF versions of agendas and minutes are available below – the signed originals are held at the Town Council office and can be inspected by the public.

Upcoming Meeting Dates for 2020

10 March 2020

12 May 2020

14 July 2020

8 September 2020

10 November 2020