Finance, Economic Development and General Purposes Committee – 2019 Archive

Chair: The Mayor Councillor Rachel Brooks

Vice Chair: The Deputy Mayor Councillor Sandra Mitchell

Committee Chair of Communications and Engagement, Committee Chair of Facilities, Committee Chair of Planning, Simon Cassidy, Sally Hawken, Jane Pascoe, Julian Smith and Christina Whitty.

This committee is administered by the Town Clerk, Mr Steve Vinson who can be contacted on

The Finance, Economic Development and General Purposes Committee is responsible for the co-ordination of and periodic review of the Council’s Strategic Affairs. This includes the preparation of the recommended annual precept, forward financial planning for the Council, the recommendation of capital projects, expenditure and the remuneration of the staff. It also includes public safety matters, liaising with other bodies (Police, Cornwall Council etc), the consideration, recommendations and approval of grants and awards made by the council and the obtaining of grants from outside bodies. The Committee usually meets every two months.

Finance, Economic Development & General Purposes Terms of Reference 2019

PDF versions of agendas and minutes are available below – the signed originals are held at the Town Council office and can be inspected by the public.