# LISKEARD TOWN COUNCIL

Tel: 01579 345407 Fax: 01579 324429 TownClerk@liskeard.gov.uk www.liskeard.gov.uk



Mr S.R.Vinson Town Clerk 3-5 West Street Liskeard Cornwall PL14 6BW

### **COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2017-2018**

### **Communications and Engagement Committee**

Responsible for the management of the website, Council publications, the operation of Town Information Centre, all aspects of tourism in the town, engagement with the public, the planning of civic events, the upkeep of Council trailer, signage within the town and the museum. The Committee meets every 2 months.

Existing members - Tyler Bennetts, Rachel Brooks (Chair 2016/2017), Roger Holmes, Sue Pike, Hella Tovar

Vacancies x 2 - 4

### Facilities Committee

The Facilities Committee is responsible for managing the usage, care, maintenance and upkeep of the Public Hall, the Guildhall Complex, the Forrester's Hall Complex, the Fountain, the War Memorial, the Pipe Well and the Allotments. The Committee usually meets every two months.

Existing members - Ian Goldsworthy (Chair 2016/2017), Sally Hawken (V Chair 2016/2017), Tony Powell, Christina Whitty

Vacancies x 3 - 5

### **Finance and General Purposes Committee**

Responsible for the co-ordination of and periodic review of the Council's Strategic Affairs. This includes the preparation of the recommended annual precept, forward financial planning for the Council, the recommendation of capital projects expenditure and the remuneration of the staff. It also includes public safety matters, including CCTV, liaising with other bodies (Police, Cornwall Council etc), the consideration, recommendations and approval of grants and awards made by the council and the obtaining of grants from outside bodies. The Committee usually meets every two months.

The Mayor, The Deputy Mayor, 3 Committee Chairs plus Sally Hawken, Sue Pike

Vacancies 0 - 2



## **Planning Committee**

The Planning Committee is responsible for planning issues, applications and consultations with other bodies such as Highways, and the Neighbourhood Plan. The Committee normally meets every 3 weeks throughout the year.

Existing members - Tyler Bennetts, Jane Pascoe, Tony Powell, Christina Whitty (Chair 2016/2017)

Vacancies x 3 - 5

<u>Observations:</u> Following external review in May 2016, the Town Council modified its Committee meetings from September 2016. It was agreed to review the amendments ready for the new Council. From comments made to date, the following could be recommended "That the start time for Committees return to 7.30 p.m. from the current 7.00 p.m."

The Consultant did recommend that the Council adopt a basic Committee size of 9 Councillors which a quorum of one third. However, the Council decided to modify the recommendation to a Committee size of "a minimum of 7 with quoracy being 50% plus one". The number of Committee vacancies is given as a lower figure to meet the minimum of 7, with a higher figure if this could be achieved and were felt necessary.